The Alien and Invasive Species Regulations – promulgated under the National Environmental Management Biodiversity Act 2004 (NEMBA) – go into effect 1 October 2014. The National List of Invasive Species for South Africa includes 383 plants, 15 fish, 35 reptiles, 24 birds, 7 amphibians (frogs and toads) and 41 mammals.

Permit applications are now available…. The Department of Environmental Affairs, through the directorate: Biosecurity, will start processing permit applications and issuing permits for restricted activities relating to alien and listed invasive species.

Permit Application – Invasive Species

Alternatively go to and you will find a link to the downloadable permits from the Home Page.  Anyone wishing to apply for a permit to carry out a restricted activity involving a species of plant and animal of an alien and/or listed invasive species may lodge an application at the Department of Environmental Affairs via post to: The Department of Environmental Affairs, Branch: Environmental Programmes, Directorate: Biosecurity, 14 Loop Street, Cape Town, 8001. Attention: Issuing Authority. Take note that forms must either be hand delivered or posted. Fax applications will also not be accepted.

Invasive species permitting office

For more information: 

Mr Khathutshelo Nelukalo

Control Biodiversity Officer:Issuing Authority

Department of Environmental Affairs

Directorate: Biosecurity Services

14 Loop Street

Cape Town


Tel: 021 441 2812